How many emails do you have? Maybe you who are reading this article have more than one email. You may sometimes feel, having more than one email is a bit of a hassle. And you intend to delete one of them.
Here I will discuss How to Delete Gmail Account Permanently.
But before we go any further, there are a few things you need to know. Gmail is a product made by Google. Deleting a Gmail account is not the same as deleting a Google account.
That Google account is connected to many other Google products, for example, Gmail, YouTube, Google Play Store, Calendar, Google Drive, Webmaster tools, Blogger, etc. So here you have to be clear, you want to delete the whole google account or just the Gmail account.
The difference between deleting a Gmail account and deleting a Google account
Delete one of the google products (eg Gmail, YouTube, etc.).
You will lose content from google services that you delete. For example, if you delete the YouTube service, then all your history and viewing history will be deleted as well. All content in the service will be deleted. So back it up first if you don’t want to regret it. If you just delete the YouTube service (for example), your Gmail account will still work.
Delete google account (in its entirety).
With this option, you don’t just lose one or two of the products. However, all Google products connected through that account will also be deleted. So for this second option, make sure you know very well the consequences.
- You will not be able to access the content stored on google play games.
- You will lose access to the play store as well as all the apps you have purchased.
- The username you used previously will not be able to be used to register again.
- The data on Google Drive will be erased.
- Contacts that you saved in your google account will also be lost.
- You also cannot access purchases and subscriptions that you make through your Google account.
How to delete a Gmail account and Google account
Here I assume you will delete the google account entirely. Because very rarely anyone intends to just delete the Gmail account but the google account is still active.
But don’t worry, below will also explain what if you just want to delete the Gmail.
Immediately, let’s see how to delete a Google account.
- Open google.com on your phone’s browser, here I’m using chrome. After that, log in to your google account.
- Click the following sign or icon (see picture), then select Google account. In addition, you can also go directly to the following link: https://myaccount.google.com/
- Well, once you have successfully logged in, a display like the following will appear. Select data & personalization.
- Scroll down until you find to delete your service or account. Tap the option.
- Until then, there are 4 options that you might be able to use. For example, if you are worried about losing your data, you can archive it via the ‘download your data’ option. or ‘make a plan for your account’ to set what to do with your data once you don’t use your account. But this time I will not discuss this further because the discussion will belong.
Do you want to delete only the service or product? On this site, there is a choice.
Delete google account completely
Select delete your google account.
Re-enter your password. Then click next.
Until here will see a fairly long explanation.
If you want to download the data first, please click download data. If you have understood it completely, please scroll to the bottom, then put a checkmark and tap delete account.
Done, your google account has been deleted.
Delete one of the google products
So here we just click delete google services.
Enter your password, then click next.
Here I will give an example to delete a Youtube account because it is no longer used. But for those of you who want to download the data first, please click download and follow the procedure. If there is nothing you want to download, you can directly click the trash icon in the Youtube option.
However, if you want to delete the email service, just click the trash icon next to Gmail.
You will be asked to re-enter your password, click next.
Click I want to delete the content permanently. There it is explained that deleting the youtube service, means that all search and viewing history will be deleted. Put a checkmark, and click delete my content.
Retype your email address, then delete my content.
Done, the content removal process will take some time. However, if the amount of content is large enough, then the deletion process can take days.
Be sure to consider whatever options you take. Don’t let you regret it later. Backing up and moving data can actually be a solution to some of the consequences that you have to accept.
However, if you delete your Google account entirely (not just the service), you won’t even be able to get your username back if you try to register again.
Therefore, careful consideration needs to be done. So that was the article about How to Delete Gmail Account Permanently. Hopefully, this tutorial is useful, and good luck.